She’s 1 year old!

Ok so baby girl turned 1 a couple of months ago.  Since I last blogged she started walking at around 9/10 months.  She started by standing and taking a step and then cruising along holding the sofa.  Once she got the hang of it she was running around and now I can just about keep up with her!  This means I have a harness for when we go out as if she needs to come out the pushchair I can’t trust her to just hold my hand as she tries to run off!  So I have found a harness to be great.

Food wise I started to introduce more of what we eat as family meals for her but chopped into small pieces and I don’t bother with the baby food anymore.  Lots of fruit and veg and finger foods seem to go down well.

I try to ensure she goes to classes or outings with other children each week as I think it’s good for her to mingle with other children.

Sleeping wise it seemed that suddenly at around 1 year old she stopped waking for her night feeds.  This happened quite suddenly but was great when it did happen!  From waking 2-3 times a night to 0 was amazing!!  Now she sleeps through around 11-12 hours a night with a small nap in the day.  (She’s doesn’t seem to want to nap much)

At around 1 year I also noticed that she seems so much more aware of her surroundings and became a lot more cheeky and knows what she wants (and what she doesn’t!)

Nappy changes are difficult as she doesn’t want to lay down still and just wriggles everywhere whilst shouting at me.  Difficult when it’s mid-nappy change but I try my best to distract her with toys and nappy cream tubs and it seems to work most of the time.

Baby girl definitely recognises words and tries to say some of them back to me such as duck, shoes and book.  I have taken her for Baby Signing classes for months so this may have had an impact on her starting to say words earlier but I’m not sure.  She does sign to me too which is great to see.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers

